## STATE UNIVERSITY SYSTEM OF FLORIDA FLORIDA BOARD OF GOVERNORS FOUNDATION, INC.

November 10, 2011

**SUBJECT:** Election of 2012 Foundation Officers

## PROPOSED FOUNDATION ACTION

Election of 2012 Officers: Chairperson; Vice Chairperson; Secretary; Treasurer

## AUTHORITY FOR BOARD OF GOVERNORS FOUNDATION, INC. ACTION

Florida Board of Governors Foundation, Inc. by-laws

## **BACKGROUND INFORMATION**

The foundation operates on a calendar year basis and elects officers each year to serve for a one year term. This election takes place at the last meeting of the calendar year for the officers that will serve for the next calendar year.

The foundation by-laws outline the following qualifications for membership:

The members of the Florida Board of Governors shall be members of the Foundation Board. In addition, other persons shall be eligible for active membership in this corporation who have been duly elected by a majority of all the members of the Corporation at any annual or special meeting of the members.

In the past the Chair, Vice Chair and the Corporate Secretary for the Florida Board of Governors have been elected to the Chairperson, Vice Chairperson and Secretary, respectively, of the foundation. Additionally, the Treasurer has been elected by a majority of the foundation's board members.

2011 Officers were:

Chairperson - Ava Parker Vice Chairperson - Dean Colson

Secretary – Mikey Bestebreurtje Treasurer – Tim Jones

**Supporting Documentation Included:** 1. Foundation Articles of Incorporation

2. Foundation By-laws

**Facilitators/Presenters:** Ava Parker