

**WHEREAS**, Chair Blake Gable has provided distinguished and outstanding service to Florida Gulf Coast University and its Board of Trustees, having served as a trustee since 2013 and having more recently served as its Chair for three consecutive terms from 2018 through 2023;

WHEREAS, during Mr. Gable's tenure as a trustee and as Chair, Mr. Gable steadfastly represented Florida Gulf Coast University before the Board of Governors of the State University System of Florida, the Florida Legislature, and the Office of the Governor; the University boasted the highest nursing licensure pass rate in the State University System as well as the creation of The Water School, a school uniquely positioned to explore water-based issues; and Florida Gulf Coast University's four-year graduation rate increased 13 percentage points and research expenditures doubled from \$5 million to \$10 million during his tenure;

WHEREAS, Mr. Gable's dedication to public service and community goes beyond the university system as demonstrated by his involvement with various organizations including Leadership Collier and Leadership Florida; and his numerous roles, both current and former, with the area YMCA, the area American Heart Association, the United Way, The Immokalee Foundation, Enterprise Florida, the Florida Sports Foundation, and the Randy Roberts Foundation;

**BE IT RESOLVED** that the members of the Board of Governors, meeting at the University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida, on this 27th day of March 2024, do hereby recognize and commend Chair Blake Gable, for his contributions to Florida Gulf Coast University and the State University System and do wish him well; and

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that the resolution be presented to Mr. Blake Gable as a token of the Board's appreciation and thanks.

| Brian Lamb, Chair            | Ken Jones        |
|------------------------------|------------------|
| Alan Levine, Vice Chair      | Darlene Jordan   |
| Ashley Bell Barnett          | Charles Lydecker |
| Timothy Cerio                | Craig Mateer     |
| Commissioner Manny Diaz, Jr. | Jose Oliva       |
| Aubrey Edge                  | Amanda Phalin    |
| Patricia Frost               | Eric Silagy      |
| Edward Haddock               |                  |
| Jack Hitchcock               |                  |