

## STATE UNIVERSITY SYSTEM OF FLORIDA

**WHEREAS,** for the first time, Florida State University has achieved #53 in the *U.S. News & World Report's* rankings for all national universities, and for the fifth consecutive year, Florida State University has sustained a Top 25 ranking in the report's national public universities rankings by garnering #23 on this year's list; and

**WHEREAS**, the Florida State University Seminoles football team began the 2023 season ranked at #8, jumping three spots from the last season; and

WHEREAS, the Florida State Seminoles then went on to win twelve regular-season games, boasting eight wins over conference opponents, five away wins, and an undefeated regular season; and

WHEREAS, on December 2, 2023, the Florida State Seminoles secured the ACC Championship title in a 16-6 win against the University of Louisville Cardinals; and

**WHEREAS**, the Florida State Seminoles finished the 2023 college football season as a Top 6 team under the leadership of Coach Mike Norvell—the 2023 ACC Coach of the Year, the 2023 Dodd Trophy recipient, and the 2023 Paul "Bear" Bryant Coach of the Year; and

**BE IT RESOLVED** that the members of the Board of Governors, meeting at Florida State University, Tallahassee, Florida, on this 24<sup>th</sup> day of January 2024, do hereby commend the Florida State University Seminoles football team for their hard work and tenacity; and

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that the resolution be presented to Florida State University as a token of the Board's recognition of the Seminoles' achievements and contributions to the State University System of Florida.

Brian Lamb, Chair	
Alan Levine, Vice Chair	
Ashley Bell Barnett	Ken Jones
Timothy Cerio	Darlene Jordan
Commissioner Manny Diaz, Jr.	Charles Lydecker
Aubrey Edge	Craig Mateer
Patricia Frost	Jose Oliva
Edward Haddock	Amanda Phalin
Jack Hitchcock	Eric Silagy