

WHEREAS, Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University is in the top 100 *U.S. News & World Report's* Rankings for the Top Public Schools – National Universities, awarded #3 among all public and private Historically Black College and Universities (HBCUs), and lauded as the #1 Public HBCU for a fifth consecutive year; and

WHEREAS, the Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University football team went 12-1 during the 2023 season and undefeated against Southwestern Athletic Conference opponents; and

WHEREAS, over the past six seasons the Rattlers football team has consistently dominated opponents as demonstrated by their 45-13 record, under the leadership of Coach Willie Simmons—the 2022 and 2023 Football Coaches Association (AFCA) FCS Region 3 Coach of the Year and the 2023 (SWAC) Coach of the Year; and

WHEREAS, on December 2, 2023, the Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University football team won its first SWAC Football Championship, becoming conference champions; and

WHEREAS, the Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University Rattlers then went on to secure its first Cricket Celebration Bowl title on December 16, 2023, and claimed the 2023 Historically Black College and University National Championship; and

BE IT RESOLVED that the members of the Board of Governors, meeting at Florida State University, Tallahassee, Florida, on this 24th day of January 2024, do hereby commend Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University for its regional and national recognition; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the resolution be presented to Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University as a token of the Board's recognition of the university's athletic and academic achievements and contributions to the State University System of Florida.

Brian Lamb, Chair	
Alan Levine, Vice Chair	Ken Jones
Ashley Bell Barnett	Darlene Jordan
Timothy Cerio	Charles Lydecker
Commissioner Manny Diaz, Jr.	Craig Mateer
Aubrey Edge	Jose Oliva
Patricia Frost	
Edward Haddock	Eric Silagy