

WHEREAS, Chair Kelvin Lawson has provided dedicated service to the State University System of Florida having served three terms as Chair of the Board of Trustees for Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University. Since 2011, Mr. Lawson has served on the Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University Board of Trustees. First as Chair of the FAMU Budget, Finance and Facilities Committee, as well as the Chair of the FAMU Athletics Oversight Committee; Mr. Lawson worked to build a team environment, bringing together the Trustee Leadership, FAMU Leadership, National Alumni Leadership and FAMU Booster Club leadership into one forum to align on common goals; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Lawson's work outside of the University System, including his service on the Board of Truist Bank, has afforded partnerships with the FAMU Advancement Team and allowed the University to obtain \$1.2 million in grant money to promote student success. Mr. Lawson was an advocate for FAMU's leadership during its presidential selections, in collaboration with the Board of Governors, enabling FAMU to select its 12th present. Furthermore, along with FAMU President Larry Robinson, Ph.D., Mr. Lawson helped the University implement a stronger system of accountability, metrics and performance tracking monitors; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Lawson's dedicated public service to charitable organizations include serving on the Board of the Boys and Girls Club of Northeast Florida; founding the program Knots4Kids, a group geared to mentor young boys; and

BE IT RESOLVED that the members of the Board of Governors, meeting at the University of Central Florida, Orlando, Florida, on this 9th day of November 2023, do hereby recognize and commend Chairman Kelvin Lawson, for his contributions to Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University and the State University System and do wish him well; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the resolution be presented to Mr. Kelvin Lawson as a token of the Board's appreciation and thanks.

Brian Lamb, Chair	Ken Jones
Eric Silagy, Vice Chair	Darlene Jordan
Timothy Cerio	Alan Levine
Commissioner Manny Diaz, Jr.	Charles Lydecker
Aubrey Edge	Craig Mateer
Patricia Frost	Jose Oliva
Edward Haddock	Amanda J. Phalin
Jack Hitchcock	