

WHEREAS, for over a decade, Dr. Steven M. Scott has provided dedicated service to the State University System of Florida. In 2008, as he was appointed to the University of Florida Board of Trustees by Governor Charlie Christ, and served two five-year terms. He also served as Vice-Chair of the Board of Trustees from 2013 until 2014 and Chairman of the Board from 2014 until 2016. Dr. Scott was appointed to the Board of Governors in March of 2019 and served through June of 2023; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Scott has been deeply committed to educational service. He has served on numerous boards and committees throughout the state including the University of Florida where he served on the Educational Policy Committee, Governance Committee, Finance and Facilities Committee, Strategic Initiatives Committee and Audit and Operations Committee; Dr. Scott has also dedicated service to the UF Health Medicine Strategic Cabinet, UF Foundation Executive Board Committee and served as the Board of Trustees liaison for UF Health—Shands Teaching Hospital and clinics Board; and

WHEREAS, After chairing the Presidential Search Committee he received the Academy of Golden Gators Transformational Leadership Award for recruiting Dr. Kent Fuchs to be the 12th President of the University of Florida. Further, Dr. Scott is committed to transformative philanthropy, for instance he donated \$10 Million Dollars to the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences' chemistry department and the building now holds the name Scott Family Hall. The Scotts have also generously contributed to numerous other colleges and units on the University of Florida campus; and

BE IT RESOLVED that the members of the Board of Governors, meeting at the University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida, on this 30th day of August 2023, do hereby commend Dr. Steven M. Scott for his contributions to University of Florida and to the State University System, and do wish him well; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the resolution be presented to Dr. Scott as a token of the Board's appreciation and thanks.

Brian Lamb, Chair	Ken Jones
Eric Silagy, Vice Chair	Darlene Jordan
Timothy Cerio	Alan Levine
Commissioner Manny Diaz, Jr.	Charles Lydecker
Aubrey Edge	Craig Mateer
Patricia Frost	Jose Oliva
Edward Haddock	Amanda J. Phalin
Jack Hitchcock	