

WHEREAS, Dr. Deanna Michael has provided dedicated service to the University of South Florida serving as an Associate Dean from 2008-2011; an Associate Professor of Higher Education and Policy, as well as the Chair of the Department of Curriculum, Instruction and Learning at the College of Education. Dr. Michael served the Board of Governors from August of 2022 to July of 2023; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Michael's has a record of leadership having served as the President of USF System Faculty Council and a member of the USF Board of Trustees. Dr. Michael has also served as the President of the USF St. Petersburg Faculty Senate. Dr. Michael has graciously served the University of South Florida at both the Tampa and St. Petersburg Campuses. Dr. Michael served as the Chair of the Advisory Counsil of Faculty Senate serving as a representative for thousands of faculty members within the State University System; and

WHEREAS, during Dr. Michael's tenure, she has contributed to the university system as an instructor, having taught a number of undergraduate courses, including schooling in the context of society and how policy decisions are made. As an accomplished scholar, she has published many peer reviewed articles as well as her book titled "Jimmy Carter as an Educational Policy Maker: Equal Opportunity and Efficiency"; and

BE IT RESOLVED that the members of the Board of Governors, meeting at the University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida, on this 30th day of August 2023, do hereby commend Dr. Deanna Michael's for her contributions to University of South Florida and to the State University System, and do wish her well; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the resolution be presented to Dr. Michael's as a token of the Board's appreciation and thanks.

Brian Lamb, Chair	Ken Jones
Eric Silagy, Vice Chair	Darlene Jordan
Timothy Cerio	Alan Levine
Commissioner Manny Diaz, Jr.	Charles Lydecker
Aubrey Edge	Craig Mateer
Patricia Frost	Jose Oliva
Edward Haddock	Amanda J. Phalin