#### STATE UNIVERSITY SYSTEM OF FLORIDA BOARD OF GOVERNORS May 7, 2015

### **SUBJECT:** Consider Reappointment of University Trustees

# PROPOSED BOARD ACTION

Reappointment of University Trustees.

#### **AUTHORITY FOR BOARD OF GOVERNORS ACTION**

Article IX, Section 7, Florida Constitution.

## **BACKGROUND INFORMATION**

Members of the university boards of trustees appointed by the Board of Governors are subject to confirmation by the Florida Senate. During the 2015 Regular Session of the Legislature, the Florida Senate took no action on the following Trustees appointed by the Board of Governors at its March 19, 2015 meeting: (1) Michael T. B. Dennis, Florida Atlantic University, (2) Richard P. Hallion, Florida Polytechnic University, (3) Donald H. Wilson, Florida Polytechnic University, (4) Bob L. Sasser, Florida State University, (5) William R. Johnston, New College of Florida, (6) Felice Schulaner, New College of Florida, (7) Robert Garvy, University of Central Florida, (8) Anita G. Zucker, University of Florida, (9) Oscar Munoz, University of North Florida, (10), Hans G. Tanzler III, University of North Florida, (11) Brian D. Lamb, University of South Florida, (12) Harold W. Mullis, University of South Florida, and (13) Bentina C. Terry, University of West Florida.

Paragraph (1)(e) of section 114.05, Florida Statutes, provides that a vacancy exists in the office when the Senate fails to take action on an appointee prior to adjournment sine die; however, an appointee may hold over for a period not to exceed forty-five days and may be reappointed. Trustees who are reappointed are eligible for Senate confirmation in the next regular session of the Florida Legislature.

#### Supporting Documentation Included: None

**Facilitators/Presenters:** 

Governor Mori Hosseini